Aidan Andrew Dun at The British Library: The Kings Cross Mysteries

by Aidan Andrew Dun

Here’s a vid filmed at the British Library in 2012 in which I chat ‘bout hitting the squats of Kings Cross in the winter of 1972, not realizing – in a state of great inner turbulence at the time – that I was stumbling into the mythological treasure-house of Britain. In this clip I tell the true story of how I met Arthur Rimbaud in a snowstorm on the rooftop of a Georgian derelict in that now-famous city-within-a-city of 300 squats: legendary Charrington St. When Rimbaud appeared behind my shoulder – in a vision, if you must – I didn’t know that he’d written much of his greatest work a hundred years previously in Kings Cross, in his year of wonders, 1873. I didn’t understand why he was pointing to Pancras Church just over the way, the oldest church in the western hemisphere…

All’s revealed. Check it out, peeps…

Pancross.

