Amazing Grace

by Aidan Andrew Dun

ag2

Amazing Grace
at noon
Amazing Grace
at night
Amazing Grace
all day
Amazing Grace:
That’s right!

A madman
down there
someone wrong-
in-the-head
(not-quite-right
upstairs)
plays a penny-
whistle pipe
day-in, day-out
morning
noon and night.
The lunatic’s
one song
everlasting tune
on and on
daylong
maddens
making me
lunatic too
desire
to murder that
montonous
flautist
so strong!

Amazing Grace
here
Amazing Grace
there
Amazing Grace
everywhere
Amazing Grace
nowhere.

I pray for him
to disappear
I pray for myself
in repetition
loops of fear.
I say: God
now listen!
I require
a decision
I don’t want
even a trace
of hellfire’s
division
so change me!
Yet mentally
I go downhill
suddenly, face
the monomaniac
start screaming
‘Your Idiot Grace:
This! See this?
Gold in your tin!
Find another place
learn another tune
earn more money!

Amazing Grace
all day
Amazing Grace
all night
Amazing Grace
forever
Amazing Grace?
never.

At last silence!
Today finally
fanfares drove
my mad penny-
whistler away
to find another
working-place.
(Big buffoon
humanity with
its one tune
one repetitious
stupid dirge
of misfortune:
discontinued!)
Enraged locals
with car-horns
at last, at last
hooted him down
tooted him out
with a group-effort
doomsday shout
Revelation stab
Saint John’s blast!
Now he’s gone
‘His Disgrace’
and I never
passed on
a good word
to his face.

Amazing Grace
at noon
Amazing Grace
at night
Amazing Grace
all day
Amazing Grace:
that’s right!





ag1



Apologies to the Wall St busker whose noble image is borrowed here.

