Merlin (From the Tower of Glass) I

by Aidan Andrew Dun

mer3

 

Window, yes
but no door
outward.

I am another
who sees
too clearly

To act
in any sense or
small degree.

Green extremities
tap on thick
glass walls

Urgent random
drumming from
somewhere outside:

Ah, the perpetual
orchestration
of platitudes.

No shade later
I am sure
of this:

I live inside
an evil
solarium

All can study
my indolence
if they desire.

I am like the poor
whose condition
is wide open

Transparent
as it were:
they cannot escape

Although the most
casual gaze can
find a way in.

A pile of
mouldering feathers
sun-white

Bleeding
ammonia at noon
reminds me

Of yesterday’s
flight in green
Chantry Woods.

Pilgrim on
the wind I
battered then

Some kind of
destination from
night-to-night

Aloft with the
singing race
of fliers

Travelling fools
God’s birds
of passage

Insane maybe
but very much
at large

Free from sorrowful
pressures of
both sides.

